

2024 AGM Nomination Report

Good evening special guests, athletes, volunteers, and supporters.

My name is Robert Horne, and I am the current Vice-President of the SOPEI Board. Tonight, I will present our slate of directors and officers for the 2024-2025 year.

To begin, I would like to start by thanking our retiring board members.

As you step down from your role as Board President, Craig, we want to sincerely thank you for your amazing leadership and dedication to Special Olympics PEI. Your commitment to our athletes and our mission has been truly inspiring, and with you at the wheel, the organization has made great progress. You have led with care, honesty, and a strong sense of service, helping us grow and make a real difference in people's lives. We are so grateful for all your hard work, support, and the many hours you have given to Special Olympics PEI. Your impact will be felt for years to come. Thank you.

Melanie, thank you so much for your hard work and dedication as a board member. Your legal expertise and wide-ranging knowledge have been incredibly beneficial to us. You have played a key role in helping us solve challenges and improve our programs for the athletes. Your involvement in the community, through your work on various boards, shows how much you care about making a difference. We are grateful for your support, and your contributions have made a real impact on many lives.

We are pleased to welcome athlete and advocate, Heidi Mallett, back to the board in an ex-officio capacity as she has recently joined two SOI project teams; Health Messengers/Athlete Leaders research project and SOI's Organization Refresh working group.

We have the following positions open and up for election at this time:

- President
- Vice President
- 1 Director at Large

All other positions are not up for election or renewal currently.

It is my pleasure to present the slate of directors and officers for the 2024-2025 year:

Past-President: Vacant

President: Robert Horne

Vice-President: Jamie Arsenault

Secretary: Rebecca Gill

Treasurer: Clifford Lee

Athlete Rep: Ellen MacNearney

Directors at Large: Lynda Hontscharowicz Jackie Charchuk

Directors at Large (cont.'): Marsha Cusack Jason MacLean

James Profit

Ex-officio Members: Kristin Noonan Heid Mallett

Can I please have a motion to approve the Election of Officers and Directors for the 2024-2025 year?